Tomato and Yogurt Curry

I haven’t tried a new recipe in a while.  I blame the fact that Mr. Moore and I have had some schedule changes so that we are getting home later in the day, without much energy left for adventures in Gastronomy.

So, I vowed to try at least one new recipe this week, to get out of my funk.  I decided to try a recipe from “Spice Up Your Life”, a cookbook by a local chef that we purchased at a cooking presentation we went to at the library.

The presentation was about Flexitarianism, which is just a fancy name for not eating meat at every meal.

So, fittingly, the meal I cooked tonight was vegetarian.  And super delicious.

I also kind of tricked Mr. Moore into eating and liking it.  When he asked what I was making I answered “Curry.”  Instead of telling him the title of the recipe which includes two of his non-favorite ingredients, tomatoes and yogurt.  I also left out the fact that I would be including chopped up walnuts, another of his non-favorites.

But, he liked it!  He really liked it!  In fact, he gave it a “lick the bowl” rating.

It was also pretty healthy fare, which is always a plus in my book.

Well, without further ado:

Tomato and Yogurt Curry

Prep Time: 15 m

Cook Time: 15m

Serves: 4

3 tbsp olive oil

1/2 tsp mustard seeds

2 green chiles, seeded and chopped

1 lg onion, chopped

1/4 c walnuts, chopped

1 heaping tsp curry powder

2 lg tomatoes, chopped

2 tbsp shredded coconut

1 c yogurt

1 tsp salt

1/8 c cilantro, chopped

Mise en Place... mostly.

1. In a medium skillet, over low heat, add the oil and mustard seeds and cover.  When the seeds stop sputtering, remove the cover.  Add the chiles, onion and walnuts.  Keep your face (and other body parts!) at a safe distance, because the oil can spatter, and saute until the onion is lightly brown. (About 6-8 min.)

2.  Add the curry powder and the tomatoes, and cook for 5 min, or until the tomato is tender but not too mushy.  Turn off heat and allow the mixture to cool about 10 min.

3.  Add coconut, yogurt, salt and cilantro.

4. Serve with Indian bread or plain rice. (I served mine with rice that I cooked in coconut water for extra flavor.)

 

Leave a Reply

