Red Lentils and Rhubarb

I don’t know if you’ve heard, but I have rhubarb coming out of my ears… so I’ve been trying to find interesting ways to use it up.

So much rhubarb!!

Most rhubarb recipes that I can think of (that most people can think of, I imagine) are dessert-y.  Ever the adventurer, I wanted to try something new and non-desserty.   I found this recipe for a Lentil and Rhubarb stew and I had all the ingredients in my kitchen.  So… I made it!!

  • 3 or 4 stalks rhubarb, chopped
  • 1 cup red lentils
  • 2 tablespoons minced ginger
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 4 cardamom pods (I used cardamom seeds since I didn’t have any full pods)
  • 1 tablespoon mustard seeds
  • 2 cloves
  • 1 teaspoon cracked black pepper
  • 1 dried ancho or other mild chili, optional
  • Salt
  • Chopped cilantro leaves for garnish

Combine all ingredients except salt and cilantro in a saucepan and add water to cover by about 1 inch. Cook at a steady simmer until lentils and rhubarb are quite soft, 20 to 30 minutes. Remove cloves and, if you like, cardamom pods. Add salt, then taste and adjust seasoning. Garnish with cilantro and serve.

How simple was that?!  Simple and tasty.  The only thing that I would have changed is to actually add more rhubarb.  We didn’t use up very much of our supply and we didn’t taste it very much in the final dish.  I served the stew over rice which I had cooked with cilantro and lime juice.  I also fried up some tempeh and made a cilantro-yogurt sauce on the side.  (Greek yogurt + salt + cilantro)  The yogurt sauce turned out to be key for the dish since I may have added a *bit* more chili than was advised.  Oops!

But, Mr. Moore liked it enough to give it a rating of “make it again.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

