Eggplant-Almond Enchiladas

I was at a bit of a loss trying to think of what to make for dinner this week (could it be the early signs of Vacation Brain??) so I handed a cookbook to Mr. Moore and said, “Pick something.”

The cookbook I handed him was one of my favorites.  The Moosewood Cookbook.

This book, like many of my cookbooks, came from a family friend who was moving to California and was getting rid of loads of books.  Since she was a retired home economics teacher, her discarded books were my treasures.  As you can see from the cover, and the following pages, this is a well-worn book.  Despite it’s worn pages this is not one of my favorites only for the wonderful vegetarian recipes inside, but also for the beauty of the book itself.  All of the recipes are lovingly handwritten and illustrated.

So, I won’t bother typing out the recipe when you can enjoy Mollie Katzen’s beautifully done directions for yourself:

This was a full-day project since I made the hot-sauce from scratch (recipe also from this cookbook), but most of the sauce-making time was moseying over to the pot for a glimpse and a stir.

It was totally worth it to make homemade hot sauce and I will definitely do it again.   I made no alterations to the recipe other than to cut it down to a two-person size.  So, we have tons of hot sauce left over; a fact Mr. Moore was rather pleased with.  Which leads me to this recipe’s rating: Mr. Moore says “Lick the bowl!” (Although I think he refrained from licking the hot sauce off of his plate this time…)

And before you go, here’s a money shot of the gooey cheese, silky eggplant and crunchy almonds nestled in the enchilada.  Yum! Yum! Yum!

Leave a Reply

