Mushroom “Risotto”

As the summer days are dwindling, my dinner prep has changed a lot. We haven’t been eating our meals outside anymore.  We’ve been using less and less fresh vegetables.  I’ve been spending more time in front of the stove. And I’ve been going back to a lot of tried and true recipes.

Here is a variation on a recipe that I make probably once a week.  I wish I could remember where I first  learned this pasta cooking technique, but I just can’t!  I read so many food blogs and food magazines and cookbooks and sometimes an idea just gets stuck in there and I can’t remember from whence it came.

I’m calling it “risotto” because it’s pasta… cooked like risotto.  Mr. Moore loves this kind of pasta.  We’ve both always liked frying up leftover pasta in a pan to get that nutty flavor, so when I read about this it was a total “duh” moment.

Now, if you can bear with my aversion to ever measuring anything in the kitchen, here’s what you do:

  • Heat some olive oil in a medium sauce pan over a med-high flame.
  • Add your pasta.
  • Fry the pasta for a bit, stirring constantly.
  • When the pasta is the desirable brown-ness. (Length of time depends on the type of pasta, but you want them to be ‘browned’ NOT ‘burned’)
  • Take your pan off the flame. (I never actually do this but I think it’s to prevent kitchen fires, so maybe you should)
  • Add a glass of white wine to the pan to de-glaze. (Additionally, drink a glass of wine to de-stress)
  • Once the wine is done sputtering, add like… a cup-ish of stock or water, enough to cover the pasta.  Remember, you can always add more later if it’s not enough, so err on the low side.  Also, if you use water instead of stock, you should add salt at this stage.
  • Stir the pasta until all the liquid is absorbed.
  • Top with some parm cheese and cracked black pepper and be amazed at how tasty it is.

Now, that’s the basic version.  The version you see at the top of the page is really just a bit more involved.

I got some past-their-prime mushrooms for free from the market, so I decided to use some tiny little star pasta I had in the pantry to make one of my favorites.  How adorable do the stars look toasting in the pan??

  If you would like to make some mushroom risotto , either real or fake-ish like mine, here’s a really good recipe you can follow.

Or you can just throw stuff in a pan like I did.

Either way, it’s a crowd pleaser.  Even if you happen to be married to someone who claims they don’t like mushrooms.  Mr. Moore gave this recipe a “lick the bowl” rating.

He didn’t actually lick his bowl this time, but there was barely a star or bit of mushroom left behind.

Leave a Reply

