Flan by any other name

One of the things I was most looking forward to about coming home from vacation was cooking.  I haven’t been cooking very much lately because I was so sick for so long, and food kind of took a back burner.  (Ha!)

Then, in Vegas we ate out three meals a day, and not very healthfully most of the time.  Vegas is not very friendly to vegetarians, it turns out.  So, I ended up eating a lot of pancakes and french fries.

Happily, I set off to the grocery store upon my return, with a new recipe in hand.  This recipe came from a vegetarian cookbook I have which I am pretty sure is British.  I am basing this assumption off of the fact that the measurements are given in grams and the temperatures are in given in degrees celsius.  Also, they use fancy food terms like Aubergine and Rocket instead of Eggplant and Arugula.

Another apparent language difference is the use of the term “flan”  because this recipe is called “Tomato and Olive Flan” but… it’s really more of a tart, or pie.  Flan to me is eggy custard.  Wikipedia mostly backs me up on that…

Well, whatever it’s called, it was easy and delicious!  Especially since I cheated and used a pre-made pie crust.  Pre-made pie crust is the one kitchen convenience I just can not give up.  My crusts never come out as good, and they are a pain in the butt to make.  Maybe someday I’ll master it, but… until then…

Tomato and Olive Flan

from The Essential Vegetarian Cookbook

  • (1 pie crust)

Filling

  • 2 tbsp Olive Oil
  • 2 tbsp Dijon Mustard
  • 1/2 oz butter (I used olive oil)
  • 6 sm tomatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 3 lg onions, thinly sliced
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 2 tbsp shredded fresh basil
  • 1 c olives, pitted and sliced
  • 1 c grated Gruyere cheese
  1. Preheat oven to 415 F
  2. Roll the pastry out to fit pie tin, cover with foil and pie weights (use dried beans in you don’t have pie weights).  Bake for 15 minutes.
  3. Mix together the Olive Oil and mustard to make a smooth paste.
  4. Spread mustard mixture over the pastry base.
  5. Heat butter (I used more olive oil instead) in a medium pan and cook the tomatoes and onions until soft.  Remove from heat and drain off excess liquid.
  6. Spoon the tomato mixture into the pastry.
  7. Mix together the olives, sugar and basil and sprinkle over tomato mixture.  Top with cheese.
  8. Bake for 20 minutes or until the cheese is brown.
  9. Enjoy!
Mr. Moore gave this a 5 star rating!  (Wherein 5 stars is the highest and 1 star is the lowest) 🙂
4 thoughts on “Flan by any other name

    • Haha! When people compliment my pie crust I say, “it’s a family recipe.”

      It’s not exactly a lie… Grandma, Mommy, you, me and Tasha all use pre-made pie crust!! We’ll have to pass the recipe on to Liana as well!

  1. Pingback: Raspberry Ramos Bars « The Amazing Moores

Leave a Reply

