Raspberry Ramos Bars

Way back, before I was Mrs. Moore, when I was a wee Ramos girl, I entered a baking contest at our neighborhood Labor Day Block Party.

And I won!

Maybe that’s when my passion for being in the kitchen first began?

Last night as I was trying to fall asleep, I recounted the memory to Mr. Moore (who was trying to fall asleep also… and with more success despite my story telling).  I told him all about the block party which included a parade of children in costumes.

He asked, “Was it Halloween??”

“No! It was summer!”

“Then why were you wearing costumes??”

“I don’t really think children need much of an excuse to wear costumes.”

Each year there was a theme and the neighborhood kids dressed up according to the theme.  Then we paraded down the street.  I specifically recall the nursery rhymes theme and my Little Miss Muffet costume.  I know there is a picture of me with my bowl of curds and whey with a spider on a stick stuck to my back so that he dangled over my head.

Honestly, there are maybe a dozen houses on this street and maybe as many children.  So, it was not a very impressive parade.  What is impressive is that my mother and her sister participated in the same costume parade when they were kids, too!  Sadly, I don’t think the tradition has continued.

I can’t remember if the Little Miss Muffet year was the same year I entered the baking contest?

Well, whichever year it was, my winning entry was Raspberry Ramos Bars.  I cannot remember the original recipe I followed to make my first batch of Raspberry Ramos Bars.  I remember being proud of the name I came up with.  I definitely remember winning.  (In my memory it was 1st place, but… that may be my ego remembering…) I remember I made them from scratch, but I used raspberry jam instead of fresh raspberries.

Today I revived Raspberry Ramos Bars while baking desserts for Mr. Moore to take to his office for his co-worker’s birthday.  I also “baked” a banana cream pie (thanks for the idea, Big Sister) and some brownies.

The Banana Cream pie I made with pre-made crust (of course), instant jello pudding and cool-whip.  Don’t judge me!  I did make some caramel sauce from scratch, though, which I layered with the pudding and bananas for kind of a Bananas Foster Cream Pie thing.

I even wrote a secret message in the pie crust for the Birthday Girl:

The Brownies were from a box.  I make no apologies here.  Especially since I don’t even get to EAT a brownie. (updated: I actually DID get to eat a brownie, and they were gooooooooood.  Still not apologizing.)

The Raspberry Ramos Bars, however, were from scratch, and I didn’t even use Raspberry Jam to make them!!

Raspberry Ramos Bars

Filling

  • 1 lb raspberries (fresh or frozen)
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 c brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp melted butter
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  1. Cover raspberries and zest with lemon juice, let them marinate for a few moments.
  2. Add sugar, stir well, add butter.
  3. Add dry ingredients, stir, set aside.
“Bar” ingredients
  •  1 1/4 c flour
  • 1 1/2 c oats
  • 1 c brown sugar
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 c butter, cut into small pieces
  1. Whisk together dry ingredients.
  2. Add butter.
  3. Mix well, don’t worry if there are still some chunks of butter.
Assembly!
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Butter a 9×13 dish, spread 3/4 of the dry mixture into your dish.
  3. Top with Raspberry filling.
  4. Top with remaining dry mixture.
  5. Bake for 35-40 minutes.
  6. Enjoy!

These were a big hit at Mr. Moore’s office party!

4 thoughts on “Raspberry Ramos Bars

  1. About the Labor Day Parade/Party thing. I believe Mrs. Murdock told me they still have the block party. Not sure about the parade part. And yes I dressed up for my share of the parades, Grandma has embarrassing pictures of your mother and I to prove it. And my children attended one parade from which I have pictures to torture them at a later date. Hehehe! My favorite part was always the bubble gum blowing contests, at least one person always wound up with gum in their hair. – Thanks for jogging my memory! 🙂

  2. my favorite parade was the circus themed one… i was a gypsy with a crystal ball and you were a tightrope walker wearing mom’s glittered out pink dress (which when we were little we thought was the prettiest dress we’d ever seen!)

Leave a Reply

