Spicy Asian Coleslaw

As part of last week’s bounty from Hilltop Hanover Farms, we got a nice big head of cabbage.  As of this morning it was still sitting in our fridge, untouched.

I knew I wanted to make some kind of slaw with it, but Mr. and I are not too fond of mayonaissey coleslaw, or of mayonaissey things in general.  There is also only so much coleslaw one person can eat, in my humble opinion.  So, I was looking around for other ideas of what to do with our big head of cabbage and I came across this recipe on All Recipes.

I used this as a jumping ground and then used whatever we had in the house to make my own version of this Asian-American Slaw.

I was intending to make it a little closer to the online recipe, but… I forgot a few things at the supermarket, so I had to improvise.

Anyway, it turned out awesome.  Mr. was super happy with it, and I am looking forward to eating some of this salad for lunch all week long.  It was the perfect accompaniment to our dinner of steamed bok choy (from Hilltop…), rice and tempeh.

I even ate my dinner with chopsticks.  Which was totally an homage to the Asian flair of our dinner, and not at all because all the forks were in the dishwasher…

Spicy Asian Coleslaw

inspired by Asian American Slaw with Peanuts and Jalapenos on Allrecipes.com

  • 1 head of cabbage, sliced thinly
  • 1 bunch scallions, sliced
  • 1 red pepper, sliced thinly
  • 1 carrot, shredded
  • 1/2 c peanuts, chopped
  • 1/4 c peanut butter
  • 1/4 c walnut oil
  • 1 tsp soy sauce (that’s all I had! Definitely put more than that…)
  • 1/2 c white vinegar
  • 1 tbsp sriracha
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • Salt to taste
  1. Chop, slice and shred all your vegetables and put them in a big bowl.  A really big bowl, or you’ll have to transfer to a bigger bowl halfway through and then you’ll have an extra dish to wash…
  2. I didn’t really measure any of my dressing ingredients (of course) and also… I just mixed it all in the peanut butter jar since I was using up the last bit of peanut butter.  Shake. Shake. Shake.  Then stick your pinky finger in to taste.  Then put in a spoon to taste a little more.  Then stop yourself from eating all the dressing.
  3. Pour the dressing over your vegetables and stir.  Add the peanuts.
  4. Taste. Enjoy. Repeat as many times as you see fit.
Some other ideas for this slaw:
  • The original recipe calls for ginger, which I had but totally forgot about, but would have been an excellent addition.
  • I was planning to put in some broccoli, but ran out of room in my bowl, so I didn’t.  But, if you have room in your bowl, go  for it!  The more veg, the better.
  •  I bet it would be really good with some crushed up ramen noodles (minus the flavor packet) in it.
  •  It would probably also be good with some sunflower seeds in there.
  •  Ooooh!  I bet it would even be good with some crushed pineapple for more sweetness.
  • Or even dried cranberries!
  • Go nuts!  (Literally, you could put more nuts in there!!)
So, yeah, anyway, we liked it.  And we’ve agreed this will become our new go-to recipe for bringing to pot-lucks and picnics.
Mr. Moore says “Lick the bowl“.
(Editor’s note: Why does spell check always try to change “coleslaw” to “boleslaw”????)
5 thoughts on “Spicy Asian Coleslaw

Leave a Reply

