Back to Life

Okay, folks, it’s Monday, which I guess means that vacation is officially over…

While we were at Mohonk Mountain House, we made a “no technology” rule and turned off our cell phones and set our wi-fi to airplane mode so that we could enjoy ourselves without distraction.  The fact that there are no tv’s in the rooms helped the anti-tech vibe.  Mother Nature was even kind enough to send a pretty wicked storm that knocked out the power for a day or so. (Actually, there was a generator, so… we were only in the dark for half a minute)

But, I did cheat a *little* bit and turn on wi-fi for 60 seconds each day to post some pictures on Instagram.

So, for your enjoyment, here’s our trip in Instagrams:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And there you have it… Big Sister’s wedding is over, our Babymoon has come and gone, I turned a year older and now, all that’s left to do is wait for Little Moore to make his or her premiere appearance.

We are officially full term, which means that ANY DAY NOW… like… ANY DAY… today, tomorrow, a month from now… ANY. DAY. I could have a freaking baby.  Like a real, live human child.

Feel free to step away from your computer and take a moment to let that really sink in.

Well, now that we’re all much calmer about the whole thing… we can get on with this blog post.

I said that all there is to do now is wait for the baby, but that’s not entirely true.  There is also a bit of preparation involved here.  Starting with the Baby’s Room, which Mr. Moore promises me he is really, really, definitely, almost totally done with.  There are also about 10 million photos documenting the entire process, which he promises me he is really, really, definitely, almost totally going to edit into a video when he is on Paternity Leave.

update: I just got an e-mail from Mr. Moore correcting my numbers. He said, “I would say around 9,000 or 10,000”

We have been mentally preparing a list of projects that we will work on while he’s home on leave. That list includes a lot of photo/video editing and a few home improvement projects.  I plan to also do a lot of sitting around cooing at our baby while he is working on those things.

In addition to packing our bags for the hospital and practicing my deeeeeeep breeeeeeeathing, another “before baby” task is meal preparation.  I have been diligently searching for freezer friendly vegetarian meals to make ahead of time so that we don’t end up eating pizza every night once the baby gets here and I don’t feel like cooking.  I’ve compiled a list of about 20 different meals to prepare, which is probably total overkill.  But, I guess I’ll go ahead and blame my Italian ancestry for my tendency to over-prepare food.

So, yeah, that’s what is on the agenda for the next days/weeks as we wait for Baby.

And more deeeeeeeeeeeep breeeeeeeeeeeeeeathing.  For me, and Mr. Moore.  And you should probably practice, too…

Go ahead.

Start practicing.

One thought on “Back to Life

Leave a Reply

