Muffaletta

I’ve been a busy little beaver in the kitchen this week.  It’s a good thing, because it’s taking my mind off the fact that I can go into labor at any moment, and because it means we have a freezer stocked with delicious and nutritious foods.  It’s a bad thing because being on my 9-mos pregnant feet all day is… a little exhausting… and because I have severely over-prepared and under-estimated the size of our freezer.  It’s also kind of a bad thing because Mr. Moore comes home to a house smelling of home-cooked food and when he says “Smells good in here!” I have to respond with “I hope it tastes good… when we eat it… sometime this winter…”

Our freezer is almost completely filled and I still have five more BIG meals on my roster.  So, Mr. Moore is going to have to eat up that last little bit of lime sherbet that’s been in the freezer for a few months.  And I should probably do something with the pumpkin that I chopped up and froze sometime LAST October.  If you have any terrific pumpkin recipes up your sleeve, send them my way, friends.

So, in light of the fact that our freezer is quickly running out of room and my feet are twice their normal size, I’ve decided to nix a few of the easier recipes I had planned.  Things that would not conceivably be impossible to make whilst balancing an infant on your hip, for instance.

There were a few things that I was going to make which would be quick and easy lunch options.  Like, frozen pizza bagels.  When I told Mr. Moore I took those off of my cooking roster his eyes got really big for a moment and then he said, “But, I can still make one for myself NOW, right? Because we already have the ingredients.”  He was kind of excited about pizza bagels.

I assured him that, yes, pizza bagels were still in his (now much nearer) future.

Another recipe that I was going to make and freeze was this one from the pretty helpful website onceamonthmom.com.  Since I already had all the ingredients to make it, I just went ahead and made it and called  it dinner.  Mr. Moore was so pleased to come home to a house that smelled of food he could actually eat that same day.

The recipe is called Artichoke Muffaletta Sandwich, but… it’s just a bit different from a traditional Muffaletta (muffuletta?).  Particularly in the fact that there is no olive mixture at all.  Also… there’s no meat, where the traditional sandwich features mortadella and ham, I think, and a bunch of other deli-meat type ingredients which I am too lazy to switch over to my Google tab to investigate.

Despite the fact that the name is misleading for anyone who is a big olive/meat lover, this sandwich was soooo good.  I know Mr. Moore liked it, because he told me he did… a few times… without being asked.

Anyway, if you’re in the mood for a non-meaty, non-olivey Muffaletta, this is the recipe for you!

We served it along side a salad made with our last week of CSA vegetables (so sad!).

And, now I’ll stop talking and give you the recipe, copied directly from onceamonthmom.com, with my notes in (parentheses):

Artichoke Muffaleta Sandwiches

Author/Source:

Kelly @ Onceamonthmom.com

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup pesto sauce
  • 1 teaspoon dijon mustard
  • 1/2 loaf artisan bread (I used a ciabatta)
  • 8 ounces artichoke hearts, water packed, rinsed, drained and sliced
  • 2 ounces provolone cheese, sliced
  • 1 medium tomato, sliced
  • 1 cup fresh spinach (oops! totally forgot this)
  • I added about a cup of Cannellini beans, because I add beans to everything.  Protein is good for you.

Directions:

Combine the pesto and mustard in a small bowl and mix well. Cut the bread in half lengthwise. Hollow out the top half, leaving about a one inch shell. Spread the pesto mixture over each half. On one half, layer the artichokes, cheese, tomato and spinach (and beans). Top with the other half. Secure with toothpicks and place onto baking sheet. Bake at 350 until cheese is slightly melted, cut into servings and serve.

If you’re looking to freeze it, hop on over to Once-a-month Mom and see the freezing directions, too!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

