Brrrrrr!

Hey! It’s cold today! Have you heard?

Yeah, it hasn’t even gotten up into double digits yet. So, I’m pretty happy I put some steel cut oats in the slow cooker last night before bed because waking up to a nice hot bowl of oatmeal was pretty great.

20130123-095059.jpg
I’m also pleased I have this really adorable hot water bottle to snuggle with all day to keep warm.

20130123-095229.jpg
It’s only going to get colder, so if you’d like your own warm bowl of oatmeal tomorrow morning, here’s what to do:

1 cup milk (we use almond milk)
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup steel cut oats
1 tbsp brown sugar
1 tbsp ground flax seeds
1/4 tsp salt

Combine in your slow cooker (we have a little one, if you have a bigger one, double the recipe and enjoy more than once…) and cook overnight!

We added apples and cinnamon, go crazy with your own add-ins… Tomorrow I’m going with bananas and raisins…

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Brrrrrr!

  1. I don’t know what steel cut oats are but I’m sure I can figure it out. Thanks for the recipe. I’ll have to try this one day for the kids. Oh and love the owl hat on Miss Margot! ❤

  2. Pingback: Brrrrrr….. « Happenings on the Hill

  3. Pingback: Slow Cooker Hot Chocolate Steel-cut Oatmeal | Straddle The White Line

Leave a Reply

